Daily Prompt: Sacred

via Daily Prompt: Sacred

“A library outranks any other one thing a community can do to benefit its people. It is a never failing spring in the desert.”
Andrew Carnegie

library-and-learning-resources-centre-langa-capetown-south-africa-b6n0aa.jpg

The first time i went into a public library i was still a rowdy teenager and the caretaker kept running around putting us in order. It was a large library inside the government building close to where i live, and jumping from one floor to the other felt like a game, not so to the many people there searching for a quiet reading time. I started building my own mini library at home while still at school. It consisted mostly of “stolen books”(borrowed but never returned); books from my late grandfathers library and magazines. Magazines will eventually outnumber books though (400 + magazines). This for me is my little corner, my sacred place that i have asked everyone to mind their coffee/tea around them. I spent a lot of peaceful, sacred moments paging through many stories and i wouldn’t mind when the world close in and leave my little corner intact.

# This is my contribution to daily prompt Sacred.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Sacred

Leave a Reply

